Uncategorized

The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman

51c07QpNo1L
Image via Amazon.co.uk

Dive into a magical novel of memory and the adventure of childhood, from one of the brightest, most brilliant writers of our generation.

It began for our narrator forty years ago when the family lodger stole their car and committed suicide in it, stirring up ancient powers best left undisturbed. Dark creatures from beyond the world are on the loose, and it will take everything our narrator has just to stay alive: there is primal horror here, and menace unleashed – within his family and from the forces that have gathered to destroy it.
His only defense is three women, on a farm at the end of the lane. The youngest of them claims that her duckpond is an ocean. The oldest can remember the Big Bang.

THE OCEAN AT THE END OF THE LANE is a fable that reshapes modern fantasy: moving, terrifying and elegiac – as pure as a dream, as delicate as a butterfly’s wing, as dangerous as a knife in the dark.

As a huge fan of Neil Gaiman, when I got my hands on this book I only devoured it! Neil has a way with words that just makes you want to keep reading more and more. It is a ‘plot driven’ novel where plenty happens and it is exciting and hard to put down. ‘The Ocean At The End Of The Lane’ takes you away to another world where anything appears to be possible, it’s a brilliantly written which grips you from the very first few pages with a lot of interesting characters that you can’t help but like.

What I liked most about this book was that you don’t necessarily have to be a fan of fantasy or science fiction stories to enjoy this book. While it does stray towards the fantasy side, it was written as a fable, and manages to blend reality with fantasy really well without over doing it. Neil manages to get you hooked on these characters from the very beginning, making them very likeable which is great considering how fast paced the book is, and even manages to tug at your heart-strings with its very moving ending.

I would recommend this book for readers of the age of 12 onwards. Even though the book is about a child and childhood, I can’t see young children reading this, as there are some dark themes throughout it, and it can even get creepy or eery at certain parts, and I think young children might just find it a little bit scary. This book is a perfect read even if you have never read any of Neil Gaiman’s other books, and for fans of Terry Pratchett and Patrick Ness.


In association with Blackbird Books.


1 thought on “The Ocean At The End Of The Lane by Neil Gaiman”

Leave a Wee Word