Books Writing

My Top 5 Book Releases for Winter 2016

Ooh, look at this–a most from WeeBitWordy that isn’t another edition of The Weekly Word–I, say…

Today I am sharing with you guys some books that I can’t wait to read this year. Now, in the title I mentioned Winter 2016, but what this really is, is the books I liked the look of most when I hit “in the next 90 days” of the new releases over on Amazon. So this post covers books released in January through to March. Hopefully by the time March comes around I might make another one of these posts, with my Top 5 releases of March/April-May/June. *sets reminder on phone to go off March 1.*

Book 1: Knightley & Son: 3 of a Kind by Rohan Gavin.
Release Date: January 7 2016

Who will hold the winning hand? Sherlock meets Ocean’s Eleknightleyven in this wickedly funny, action-packed crime caper.

Darkus Knightley is used to expecting the unexpected. An extraordinary solver of crimes, with immense powers of deduction, and regularly found bedecked in tweed, Darkus is anything but the average 13-year-old. But he is the person to call when strange goings-on are afoot!

Despite trying to leave his detective ways behind to lead a normal teenage life, when his father’s loyal housekeeper, Bogna, goes missing, Darkus must return to the family fold and follow the clues to America and the bright lights of Las Vegas. Alongside his father, Alan, and stepsister, Tilly, Darkus must once again face the deadly criminal organisation, the Combination – and this time, all bets are off. With danger at every turn, Knightley and Son will need an ace or two up their sleeves in order to win this game. Will the odds be in our detective duo’s favour? Or will this be the Knightleys’ final roll of the dice?

As the first on my list, this was actually the last book I found on my hunt for future releases and I was drawn to it straight away as soon as I saw the cover. I am a big fan of Sherlock and I did indeed enjoy Ocean’s Eleven, so I am sure this book will be awesome. I also found out that there was a previous book in the series titled simply Knightley & Son, so I think I might just have to hunt that one down too!

Book 2: Harmony Black by Craig Shaefer
Release Date: February 1 2016

Harmony Black is much more than your average FBI special harmonyagent. In addition to being a practicing witch, she’s also an operative for Vigilant Lock, an off-the-books program created to battle occult threats—by any means necessary. Despite her dedication to fighting the monsters threatening society, Harmony has become deeply conflicted about her job. Her last investigation resulted in a pile of dead bodies, and she suspects the wrong people are being punished for it.

While on a much-needed vacation, Harmony gets pulled back into action. This time, though, she’s gone from solo work to being part of a team. Their target: the Bogeyman, a vicious and elusive figure…and the creature that destroyed Harmony’s childhood.

Surrounded by quirky, fascinating characters as dedicated to one another as they are to their new partner, Harmony must learn to trust her team—and a new romantic interest—on a dangerous and deadly mission that conjures up memories she’d much rather forget.

This was the first book that I found, and I loved the sound of it straight away. I love me a good thriller as much as the next guy, but throw some supernatural/paranormal science fiction goodness in there, and I am all over it!

Book 3: Truthwitch by Susan Dennard
Release Date: January 14 2016

The first in the Witchlands series, Truthwitch by Susan Denntruthwitchard is a brilliantly imagined coming-of-age story perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Sarah J. Maas and Trudi Canavan.

In a continent on the edge of war, two witches hold its fate in their hands.

Young witches Safiya and Iseult have a habit of finding trouble. After clashing with a powerful Guildmaster and his ruthless Bloodwitch bodyguard, the friends are forced to flee their home.

Safi must avoid capture at all costs as she’s a rare Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lies. Many would kill for her magic, so Safi must keep it hidden – lest she be used in the struggle between empires. And Iseult’s true powers are hidden even from herself.

In a chance encounter at Court, Safi meets Prince Merik and makes him a reluctant ally. However, his help may not slow down the Bloodwitch now hot on the girls’ heels. All Safi and Iseult want is their freedom, but danger lies ahead. With war coming, treaties breaking and a magical contagion sweeping the land, the friends will have to fight emperors and mercenaries alike. For some will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch.

When I came across this book on Amazon, I knew I had to put it onto my list. I have been watching a few videos lately of booktubers sharing their most anticipated Winter 2016 books, and if I am not mistaken this came up in at least two different videos, so when I saw it, I thought it must be good if it’s getting so many recommendations.

Book 4: Quentin Blake: In the Theatre of Imagination: An Artist At Work by Ghislaine Kenyon
Release Date: March 10 2016

Quentin Blake is one of the foremost illustrators of thequentin blake twentieth century. Perhaps best known for his collaboration with Roald Dahl on books such as The Giraffe and the Pelly and Me, The Twits and Matilda, he is cherished by young and old alike, throughout the world.

Yet his work has not attained ‘fine art’ status. Should it be considered so? How does Blake s background in education inform his work? And what is the interrelation between the work he makes and the life that he leads? Distinguished curator Ghislaine Kenyon has spent a great deal of time with Blake during the last decade and a half and in Quentin Blake In the Theatre of the Imagination she provides a profound insight into an extraordinary man and a truly remarkable body of work.

Kenyon has known Quentin Blake since 1998, and worked with him on staging a jointly curated exhibition ‘Tell Me A Picture’ in the year of Blake’s tenure as Children’s Laureate (1999-2000). She followed Blake during the years in which he continued to work ‘off the page’ producing work for hospitals in Angers and Paris and staging major exhibitions around the world, collaborating with him both in an administrative and curatorial capacity. But what Kenyon has observed, during a number of years of working alongside him, and sharing a friendship, is that Blake’s work is necessarily intertwined with his life. His life informs his wonderful illustrations and his artwork in turn informs his life – a life which is extremely private, mysterious and full of complexities and ambiguities.

Kenyon and Blake share a background in teaching, and this interest informs Blake’s connection to what educationists call learning and teaching but which could also be termed simply education. A shared enthusiasm for education brought Kenyon and Blake together and informs the projects both the artist and curator now work on, aiming to reach children and adults in new ways and provide new experiences.

With exceptional insight into Blake’s oeuvre and his life, Ghislaine Kenyon has produced not merely a biography, but a critical view of the artist s work. Quentin Blake: In the Theatre of the Imagination is a fitting tribute to Quentin Blake’s journey and his great legacy – the delightful illustrations to over 300 books, several written by him, paintings, prints and sculptures – and the contribution he has made to art education and the lives of so many different people.

Where do I start with Quentin Blake… one of my favourite artists as a child growing up I loved reading all Roal Dahl’s books, accompanied by Mr. Blake’s illustrations. When I saw this book on Amazon, I put it immediately onto my wishlist.

Book 5: The Only Pirate at the Party by Lindsey Sterling and Brooke S. Passey
Release Date: January 12 2016lindsey sterling

Dancing electronic violinist Lindsey Stirling shares her unconventional journey in an inspiring memo….

Now, I’m sure a lot of you are going Who the hell is Lindsey Sterling? Lindsey is a YouTuber, but more importantly, Lindsey is a Musician. She plays the violin as her main instrument of choice, and she is phenomenal! If you don’t believe me, simply type her name into YouTube and prepare to have your eardrums blown away! I guess this book won’t be for everyone, unless you’ve been following Lindsey for a while. I have, and I cannot wait to read her story! I mean, come on, with a title like that, you know it’s got to be a good one!


And there you have it, my Top 5 picks of 2016 so far! I hope you enjoyed reading through this list as I did writing and researching it, and I will see you all very soon with another blog post–until then 😉

2 thoughts on “My Top 5 Book Releases for Winter 2016”

Leave a Wee Word